• Advertisement

Lick ???

Food Plot info/questions, Herd Management, QDMA ...

Lick ???

Postby slabhappy » Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:55 pm

I am new to creating salt licks and the like, so I thought I would try it out this year (since I got my first trail cam) for x-mas. Well I start'd out at tractor supply and got me one of those brown blocks and some buck jam. Found me a good ole rotten stump poured a little buck jam about a 1/4 the jug (VERY think stuff) and put the cam on it, went and check'd it a week later and no pics, but the stump was "clean" and some good activity around it, so I poured the rest of the the buck jam on it, and put the block on it, and I moved the camera a little closer, Iwas think'n the cam was too far away, and I switch'd it to video just for ******** and giggles. Went back 2 wks later and had 73 videos. Oh and the site was tore up real good, like a 5 ft radious from the stump, so I was really pump'd, got home about 13 videos had deer, that where walk'n on the trail I set it next to just look'n at it, and occasionally check'n it out, but the coons mainly looks like 3 of'm tore it up, I mean dude sat on the block eat'n it like cotton candy!! I know most of u guys take pics but for those that take vids, is this what u saw also?
slabhappy
button buck

Re: Lick ???

Postby FireCloud » Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:10 pm

Yes, one or more raccoons will visit the feeder site multiple times per night and really pig out on the treats. You will also get heavy participation by possums, squirrels, and just about anything else that eats this stuff (and most animals do.) These non-target species will gobble up most of the food, with the deer actually getting the least share.