• Advertisement

Large Lad Eagle Beans

Food Plot info/questions, Herd Management, QDMA ...

Large Lad Eagle Beans

Postby glenn » Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:50 pm

I have deer hunted forever and planted fall plots just about as long, but this is my first attempt at summer planting. Two weeks ago I planted 2 plots, 1 1/2 acre and 1 acre about 300 yards apart with the Large Lad beans mixed with about 4 lbs of corn per acre. All seeds were round up ready. When I planted, the soil was basically dust and didn't get any real rain until this past Saturday. Since then we have had about 2 to 2 1/2 inches.

I had a very small amount of beans and corn come up before Saturday in the shady moist areas of the plots. The first day I checked them there were a few beans about 2 inches tall. 2 days later those beans had been eaten off. I checked them again on Sunday and noticed some of the stalks were sprouting back out just above the bottom leaves, the 2 initial leaves that pop out as soon as the bean comes out of the ground. If they were bitten off below those 2 leaves there was no sign of life. Now my laundry list of questions.

1) Is this what I can expect as they all come on up, or am I dreaming and seeing beans at different stages after being eaten?

2) I know it is recommended to plant at least 3 acres to prevent the deer from wiping them out, but should this amount survive by using the large lad beans?

If the answer to 1 and 2 is bad, lie to me and make me feel better about burning so much money :bash: .

3) I have a healthy crop of grasses coming up. If survival is expected of the beans, when and what should I spray to kill the weeds if anything?

Wouldn't you all hate to teach me in school? I have lots of questions and don't mind asking even when they make me look really dumb.
Never mistake kindness for weakness!
Aim small, miss small!
glenn
Pope&Young

Re: Large Lad Eagle Beans

Postby conservative » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:08 pm