• Advertisement

How to train a dog to scent trail?

Small Game & Varmit hunting Talk

How to train a dog to scent trail?

Postby LazyGhost » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:10 pm

Got a new dog now and was wanting to make her good at tracking down the deer that we kill. Since im hunting at home I can shoot one and whether it runs 10 yards or 200 I can easily go back to the house and get her and work her on every kill we make. Just needing some idea's on how to train and work her since I have no experience.
LazyGhost
Pope&Young

Re: How to train a dog to scent trail?

Postby terry08 » Sun Apr 04, 2010 6:26 am

LazyGhost,

Smacko gave an answer to this during hunting season but, I can't find where it was posted. PM smacko and he can tell you how he trained his labs.
A COUNTRY BOY CAN SURVIVE
HUNTING IS NOT A SPORT, IT'S A WAY OF LIFE

Be Carefull of The Words You Say. Just Keep Them Soft, And Sweet. You never Know From Day To Day, Which Ones You'll Have To Eat.
terry08
Pope&Young

Postby terry08 » Sun Apr 04, 2010 7:24 pm

Midnight won't trail nothing but a Rib Eye Steak and likes it Medium Rare.
A COUNTRY BOY CAN SURVIVE
HUNTING IS NOT A SPORT, IT'S A WAY OF LIFE

Be Carefull of The Words You Say. Just Keep Them Soft, And Sweet. You never Know From Day To Day, Which Ones You'll Have To Eat.
terry08
Pope&Young

Postby meat hunter » Wed Apr 07, 2010 4:09 pm

I used to start my young pups with a piece of bologna, hot dog, meat scrap what ever. First let them watch you drag it on the ground and leave it at the end of the trail. Then drag it around a corner and leave it. Then drag it where they can't see you at all and leave it.

Eventually they will start putting their nose to the ground and trailing the goodies.

Keep making the trails more and more complicated as you go.

Then start by dragging whatever you want them to chase with the treat. Leave the treat at the end of the trail. Then gradually phase out the treat except as a reward at the end of the trail.